Korea Republic Through to Historic Final

Satish Sekar
By Satish Sekar June 15, 2019 14:49

Korea Republic Through to Historic Final

By Satish Sekar at Lublin’s Arena © Satish Sekar (June 11th 2019)

Euphoria and Despair

Korea Republic deservedly became the first Asian team since the change from FIFA World Youth Championship to Under-20 World Cup to reach the final. Ukraine had earlier defeated Italy 1-0 after late VAR heartache for Italy, who saw a spectacular late goal disallowed for a foul in the control and volley.

Choi Jun made history after 39 minutes. Lee Kang-in, who joined Valencia’s academy as a child showed why the La Liga outfit had invested in him with a defence splitting pass to Jun, who fired in to the opposite corner, beating Ecuador’s keeper Moises Ramirez.

Meanwhile, Ecuador and Leonardo Campana in particular were left cursing their luck after the striker controlled well and struck it sweetly on the volley to beat the Korean keeper, Lee Gwang-yeon well, but not the bar

In the last minute Campana was denied brilliantly by Gwang-yeon, but the striker should have given the outstanding young keeper no chance to thwart his header.

Making History

The South American champions have made history too. This is the first time they have arrived as champions of CONMEBOL and the furthest that they have gone in the competition. Jung ensured that this will be his country’s best finish too, beating South Korea’s 4th place in 1983, they were beaten by Poland for 3rd place.

To Review or Not Review

Within 5 minutes Korea had two penalty claims waved away by English referee Michael Oliver without consulting VAR. It would get controversial when VAR was consulted too, as both teams had late goals disallowed by VAR.

After England’s complaints in the UEFA Nations League Final, VAR was being closely observed. Jesse Lingard was offside – just – but the complaint was odd. It was not a ‘clear and obvious error’ so it should not have been checked and the wrong decision should have stood – so what’s the point of technology if it should not be used to correct errors?

And in Lublin, with six minutes remaining substitute, Um Won-sang thought that after latching on to Oh Sehun’s pass and scoring across Ramirez, he had ensured history would be made, but a VAR caught him offside. It was followed by a bizarre equaliser that was belatedly ruled out too.

A punt upfield led to a shot that hit the post and rebounded in off José Cifuentes. He was not offside, although others who never got a touch and appeared not to interfere with play were. Oliver went to check and ruled the goal out.

Shortly, afterwards Campana should have ensured extra time, but Lee Gwang-yeon had other ideas.

Satish Sekar
By Satish Sekar June 15, 2019 14:49